L canceling anyone?

CaptainEllipsis

Graphic/Character Designer
I like L-cancelling, but no one really had enough landlag on their attacks to really need it.

Bent 00

Longtime Limit Breaker
L-Cancelling just raises the skill ceiling unnecessarily, if you ask me. A player's focus should be spent on more important things.

I never liked wavedashing, either.

Bashdemears

Jiggs2stronk
Wave dashing has its pros but on alot of characters it was nigh useless. Like Ganon in melee.

The three "fake" WDs (marth, peach, rob) in minus are what wave dashing should always be: Traveling a good distance while still being able to do whatever. Wolfs WD I find to be lol worthy. Then again, im not too good with him.

I just want to know how hard would it be to put it in? Is it even worth trying?

Last edited by a moderator:

Tybis

Resident Minusaur
Minus Backroom
If you want it in your own personal setup, then PhantomWings does everything.

Personally, I don't see the point of the L-Cancel mechanic. I just see it as an extra button you need to press arbitrarily (you never want more lag). At that point, you're fighting the game instead of fighting the player. But that's just me.

I never liked wavedashing, either.
I'm guessing you don't like Fox, eh?

Thor

No. Moves already have stupidly low endlag (Marth fair anyone?) and trying to punish in Minus is obnoxious as is. Letting people cut Link's dair lag in half (or to no landing lag like Smash 64) is just silly in my opinion.

Gold_TSG

Can't stop The Dorf Train.
I hate L-Cancelling, as it was the only thing keeping me from being good at Melee or even bothering with PM. Why should I have to worry so much about an extra button press instead of worrying about the match I'm in? I shouldn't have to master something so tedious just so I can play the game at a "normal" level.

NEWB

I thought id have to weigh in here, but it guess I don't lol.